Print This Page Print This Page

2008 CCHCC Annual Awards

Champaign County Health Care Consumers Annual Awards Dinner

Celebrating 31 Years of Grassroots Organizing for Health Care Justice

The Champaign County Health Care Consumers Board and Staff celebrated another successful year of community organizing at the 2008 Annual Awards Dinner on Friday, April 18, 2008.

Click here to watch the 2008 CCHCC Slideshow from the Dinner.

2008 Dinner

2008 Dinner

2008 Dinner

2008 Dinner


This year”s award winners include:

  • The Henrietta De Boer Volunteer of the Year Award

Yadira Montoya- For commitment and enthusiastic contribution to the Champaign County community

  • Aimee Olson Advocate of the Year Award

Anika Abbasi & Michelle Beightel – For outstanding service on the Consumer Health Hotline

  • Activist of the Year Award

Ron Eaker – For exceptional work on the Health Care Access Task Force

  • Volunteer Service Award

Mike Cruz – For dedicated service to Champaign County Health Care Consumers, especially development of the CCHCC website

  • Elsie Field Provider of the Year

Provena Covenant Medical Center – For increasing access to health care in our community and continuing to provide quality services for Medicaid beneficiaries and uninsured individuals

  • Youth Activist of the Year Award

Tiana Lee – For dedicated activism on the State Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP)

  • Legislative Leadership Award

Senator Richard Durbin – For leadership in the United States Congress, including on Medicare Part D

  • The Golden Bedpan Award (disservice award)

President George W. Bush and Representative Timothy Johnson – For multiple votes against reauthorizing and expanding the State Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP)


CCHCC extends a spcial Thank You to all the 2008 Adbook supporters!

  • Adapt-A-Lap
  • AFL-CIO of Champaign County
  • Arthur Cooper – State Farm
  • Asian Therapeutic Bodywork
  • Busey Bank
  • C-U Public Health District
  • Campaign for Real Choice in IL
  • Campus Faculty Association
  • Carle Foundation Hospital
  • Carpenter’s Local 44
  • Central Illinois Dental Education and Services
  • C-U Tenant Union
  • Coleman Family
  • Common Ground Food Co-op
  • Community Shares of Illinois
  • Country Arbors Nursery
  • Do Good Consulting
  • Dr. Frank Wrestler
  • East Central Illnois Area Agency on Aging
  • Evans, Froelich, Beth, & Chamley
  • The Eye Center
  • Fasprint
  • First Federal Savings Bank
  • Graduate Employees Organization
  • Great Harvest Bread Company
  • Illinois Council Against Handgun Violence
  • Illinois Disciples Foundation
  • Jeffery Frerichs, DDS
  • Kevin Elliot
  • Latino Partnership
  • Lincoln Building
  • Martin, Hood, Friese, & Assoc.
  • Mike Antoline
  • Mueller Kids
  • National City Bank
  • New Prairie Construction
  • National Organization for Women
  • PACE, Inc. 
  • Phebus & Koester
  • Provena Covenant Medical Center
  • Radio Maria
  • Rogard’s Office Plus
  • Shouting Groud Technologies, Inc.
  • Spritz Jewelers
  • Strawberry Fields
  • The Pavilion
  • University Place Christian Church
  • Vietnam Veterans Against the War
  • Weiskamp