Print This Page Print This Page

2009 CCHCC Annual Awards

The Champaign County Health Care Consumers Board and Staff celebrated another successful year of community organizing at the 2009 Annual Awards Dinner on Friday, April 17, 2009.

Click here to watch the slideshow from the 2009 Dinner.

Dinner 2009

Dinner 2009

Dinner 2009

Dinner 2009

Dinner 2009

Dinner 2009

This year”s award winners include:

Henrietta De Boer Volunteer of the Year Award
– Mauricio Salinas
For outstanding service on the Consumer Health Hotline providing Spanish-language interpreter services to Spanish-speaking Hotline and Dental clients

Aimee Olson Advocate of the Year Award
– Brian Cho and Peter Chung
For dedicated work as Advocates on the Consumer Health Hotline and dental programs

Mike Doyle Activist of the Year Award
– Jeff Scott
For dedicated commitment to community organizing for health care access
– Andy Bloeser
For dedicated commitment to community organizing on the 5th and Hill Neighborhood Rights Campaign

Elsie Field Provider Award
– Smile Healthy
For outstanding service in providing dental services to low-income children in our community
– Douglas County Health Department Dental Clinic
For creating a dental program that serves Medicaid and uninsured patients in East-Central Illinois and providing outstanding dental services to low-income adults from our community

Harry J. Baker Community Service Award
– Eleanor Clifton
For long-term commitment to health care access and justice in Champaign County and outstanding work on the Medicare Task Force

Citizen Leadership Award
– M.D. Pelmore – 5th & Hill resident
– Alvia Dyson – 5th & Hill resident
– Simone Ford – 5th & Hill resident
– Ebbie Cook – 5th & Hill resident
– Magnolia Cook – 5th & Hill resident
For leadership and commitment to the 5th & Hill Neighborhood Rights Campaign

The Golden Bedpan Award (disservice award)
– AmerenIP and the IL Environmental Protection Agency
For poor management of the 5th and Hill toxic site and neglect of health and environmental problems associated with Ameren’s toxic site

CCHCC extends a special thanks to all the 2009 Adbook supporters!

A big thank you to table sponsors at the 2009 Dinner!